Spotting the perfect DIY/Upcyle Project

Being crafty sounds great, right? I read some blogs and am utterly disgusted (in a good way) by the cute, crafty, insane projects people create. How do they find the time? Where did they get that idea? Can I be them?

I love projects, but I’ll admit to you- most of my ideas come from Pinterest. I see something I like, put the items I need on my Garage Sale list, and eventually put it together (usually with the help of Sr., the husband).

That leads me to today’s post: How do you spot the perfect DIY/upcycle project? (thank you, Kitten Sorceress, for the idea)

Easy schmeasy, guys. 3 things to keep in mind: knowledge, quality, and price.

1. Knowledge– if you’re like me and you’re not Martha Stewart, you need to do some research online. I’ve said it a trillion times now, but I’ll say it again: Pinterest. It’s honestly overwhelming how many ideas there are on this website. Using the Pinterest search bar, do separate searches for the following: “DIY,” “upcycle,” “home décor,” and “crafts.” Your search should yield numerous ideas that you may like to recreate. Seriously- you have to know what you want. Just wondering around an estate sale may not be fruitful for you. If you come prepared, however, with knowledge of what you want to create, you may actually find what you’re looking for.

2. Quality– Don’t buy it if it’s not a quality piece. Say you’re looking for a dresser. It can be ugly. It can have a hideous paint job. It can even have horrendous knobs. It should not, however, be broken, falling apart, rotting, or sprouting anything. It needs to be a good, quality piece, like the dresser we found in my parent’s basement. Made in the 70’s, this dresser is solid wood. I know because I tried to carry it. What? Yeah. Anyway, it’s not perfect by any means, but it was free and we needed a dresser. Before, it looked something like this (THIS IS NOT ACTUALLY THE DRESSER. I didn’t take a before picture because I’m dumb.)

Same color and similar style as the dresser we actually painted.

Same color and similar style as the dresser we actually painted.

So we painted it and spray painted the brass knobs. Total cost: $15 for paint, spray paint, and some cute drawer liners.

photo (16)

photo (14)

photo (15)

Here’s a tip: it helps to have another person with you when you’re on the hunt for certain items. You may see an item you’re looking for and think to yourself, “that’s the perfect hat rack I’ve been looking for!” Thankfully, you brought a friend who will**hopefully** intervene and point out that 2 of the knobs are missing and it’s leaning drastically to the left. Friends are good (a.k.a. quality assurance).

3. Price– Consider the item you’re making. Imagine how much it would cost in the store. If you’re coming anywhere close to that price at a garage sale, you’re spending too much. It’s a garage sale! Even an estate sale (which can be more expensive, depending on the business hosting the sale) should be willing to offer a decent price. If they’re not, then that’s when you walk away. Part of the thrill of upcyling or making your own whatever is knowing that you saved a buck. You may have to muster some super human patience, but you can do it.

Are you planning any DIY/upcycle projects? Here’s what I’m working on finding/creating:

Wine Caddy

Mirror

Folding Chairs (I actually bought the chairs at a sale recently…now just looking for the right fabric)

Pat on the back. So. Cute.

Just because it’s cute: this picture of Riley patting Finley on the back. So encouraging.

4 thoughts on “Spotting the perfect DIY/Upcyle Project

  1. I saved some shoebox tops and am planning to cover them with fabric and arrange them on a wall in our bedroom! Need advice on a good place for cheap fabric. Figured you’d know 🙂

    • Great idea! Send me a picture when you make them so I can post them on here! For cute fabrics in the styles you want, you’re best bet is probably online OR checking the clearance section at places like Hobby Lobby and Hancock fabrics.

  2. I love this!! You are so talented and I love your ideas. Look forward to getting your e-mails and can’t wait to see what’s inside. 🙂

Feedback, please.